Pot-unlucks

17 Jul

It is my contention that “potlucks” should be renamed to “pot-unlucks.”  Why?  Because I’m a perfectionist, that’s why.  And I spend more time than I want to admit pouring over recipe books because secretly, I want to have that *one* recipe over which everyone ogles… 

…that *one* recipe that has relative after relative coming to ask how you made it.  That *one* recipe you overhear (or eavesdrop) Aunt Jemima and Uncle Ben praising at the next table.  That *one* recipe that actually looks delectable despite the meager presentation provided by a styrofoam plate.  That *one* recipe that doesn’t ooze and mix disgustingly with your adjacent mashed potatoes.  That *one* recipe that lives up to even Grandma’s standards.  And I know, ladies and gents, you all secretly want to have that *one* too.

Which is why I’m here to announce…

This.

Is.

The.

*One.*

Marbled Cheesecake with Cocoa Crumb Crust

From Great American Brand Name Baking, page 150

I apologize for blowing your mind, but it tastes even better than it looks.

5 Responses to “Pot-unlucks”

  1. Caroline July 17, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    So pretty! Love the angles for your photos! Too bad no one in my family eats cheesecake. What I don’t love about potlucks is that I associate them with old people who bring gross things like tuna noodle casserole and wimpy iceberg salads. Now a bloggers’ potluck, that would be quite lucky!

    • kneadspeed July 18, 2010 at 8:14 am #

      Unfortunately, Caroline, there were a number of those tuna noodle casseroles sitting at a table not far from my cheesecake. They looked rather suspicious.

      But the cheesecake received rave reviews! In fact, most people didn’t even wait to finish their main meal before scampering up to nab a slice. It was there and then it just, poof, disappeared.

  2. Carla July 18, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    Wow, yum! Me want a bite!

  3. Jen July 23, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

    I’m your potluck twin. I always want to be the one who brought the standout dish. And then when people rave over it, I act like it’s no big deal, just a little something I whipped up and practically put zero thought into. And then I feel superior to the others who brought less desirable dishes. It’s the potluck way.

    • kneadspeed July 23, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

      I just love knowing that so many people enjoyed a dish into which I put my blood, sweat, and tears (figuratively speaking, ha). The best part is when they ask for the recipe – that way I know it will be replicated.

      And then maybe someday, in a perfect world, potlucks everywhere will at least have the saving grace of a cheesecake. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

